Justices of the Peace

General Duties:

The duties of justices of the peace can fall into five categories of responsibilities:

Elections. Justices of the peace are members of the Board of Civil Authority (BCA). Members of the BCA serve as election officials at town or statewide elections. Justices also are responsible for delivering absentee ballots to voters at election time.

Tax Abatement and Appeals. Justices of the peace sit as members of the town board for abatement of taxes to determine whether a taxpayer’s tax obligation should be forgiven under certain circumstances. Justices of the peace also serve an important role in the town’s tax appeal process. As a member of the board of civil authority, justices sit to hear and decide appeals when citizens do not agree with the final decision of the listers.

Marriages. Justices of the peace may also solemnize marriages in Vermont.

Oaths and Notary. Justices of the peace may also administer oaths in all cases where an oath is required, unless the law makes a different provision. A justice of the peace is a notary public ex officio and has all the acknowledgment powers of a notary public.

Magistrate. Justices of the peace may also serve as a magistrate when so commissioned by the Supreme Court.
This information is available at the Vermont Secretary of State’s Website

The Justices of the Peace in the Town of Bennington:

  • Gerald “Jerry” M. Albert
  • Barbara Bluto
  • Tom Haley III
  • Michele Hogan
  • Jackie Kelly
  • Albert Krawczyk
  • Brian Maroney Jr
  • James H. Marsden
  • Anne Mook
  • Mary Morrissey
  • Warren Roaf
  • Marjorie Robinson
  • Aaron Sawyer
  • David Shaffe
  • Anna Kinney Swierad


Justices who perform Ceremonies 2019-2020:

Justices of the Peace who perform marriage ceremonies are listed below along with contact information. The fee for their services varies and is settled between the couple and the Justice performing the ceremony.


Gerald Albert – 136 Main Street – (802) 447-7938
Barbara Bluto – 106 Park Street – (802) 442-9190
Tom Haley III – 544 Gore Road – (802) 681-7037
Michele Hogan – 132 Cardinal Lane – (802) 379-7997 / (802) 442-2157
Jackie Kelly – 557 Fox hill Road – (802) 379-4350
Brian Maroney Jr. – 245 Bradley Drive – (802) 447-7306
James H. Marsden – 709 County Street – (802) 442-8797
Anne Mook -106 Park Street – (802) 375-3810
Warren Roaf – 91 Jayne Lane – (802) 733-8320
Marjorie Robinson – 1819 Chapel Road – (802) 447-0459
Aaron Sawyer – 311 Pleasant Street – (802) 681-3449
David B. Shaffe – 229 Union Street – (802) 442-2521
Anna Kinney Swierad – 109 Apple Hill Road – (551) 208-2330